The BeamXpert Team

We are a team of PhD physicists with more than 50 years' experience in theoretical and practical laser physics who founded BeamXpert GmbH as a spin-off of the Ferdinand Braun Institute. Due to our daily work, the lack of an easy-to-use simulation software for laser radiation which allows calculation of the propagation of laser radiation in optical systems, was regularly brought to our attention.

The thematic focus of Dr. Eppich lies in basic theoretical knowledge of beam propagation and the development of software in the field of beam propagation and beam analysis as well as the design of optical set-ups. In the last few years he has co-authored important international industry standards in the field of laser beam characterization (e.g. ISO 11145 and ISO 11146).

Dr. Mann has extensive practical and theoretical knowledge in laser construction and the application of laser radiation for metrology applications and material processing. In addition to short pulse generation, he is particularly interested in nonlinear optics. He worked for longer periods at Technical University of Berlin, the Federal Institute for Materials Research and Testing (BAM) and for shorter periods at FBH and in industry.

BeamXpert team in the staircase of the ZMM - Dr. Bernd Eppich and Dr. Guido Mann
Dr. Guido Mann and Dr. Bernd Eppich

Get to know BeamXpertDESIGNER

Das BeamXpert-Team

Wir sind ein Team promovierter Physiker mit zusammen mehr als 50 Jahren Erfahrung in theoretischer und praktischer Laserphysik, die die BeamXpert GmbH als Spin-off des Ferdinand-Braun-Instituts gegründet haben. Aufgrund unserer täglichen Arbeit wurde uns das Fehlen einer einfach bedienbaren Simulationssoftware für Laserstrahlung, die es erlaubt die Ausbreitung von Laserstrahlung in optischen Systemen zu berechnen, regelmäßig vor Augen geführt.

Der thematische Schwerpunkt von Dr. Eppich liegt in grundlegenden theoretischen Kennt­nissen der Strahlpropagation und der Entwicklung von Software im Bereich der Strahlpropagation und Strahlanalyse sowie des Designs von optischen Aufbauten. Er war in den letzten Jahren Mitautor wichtiger, internationaler Industriestandards im Bereich der Laserstrahlcharakterisierung (u. a. ISO 11145 und ISO 11146).

Dr. Mann verfügt über umfangreiche praktische und theoretische Kenntnisse im Laser­bau und der Anwendung von Laserstrahlung für Messtechnikanwendungen und Material­bearbeitung. Dabei galt sein Interesse neben der Kurzpulserzeugung insbesondere der Nichtlinearen Optik. Er arbeitete jeweils längere Zeit an der Technischen Universität Berlin, der Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und -prüfung (BAM) sowie kürzere Zeit am FBH und in der Industrie.

Dr. Guido Mann und Dr. Bernd Eppich

BeamXpertDESIGNER kennenlernen